The James E. McLeod Awards are named in honor of African and African American pioneers in the areas of literature, science, art and community service. Some are scholars while others are outstanding citizens. This group of individuals inspire us all to strive to reach our maximum potential while uplifting our neighbors.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​